We want your opinion

Translations

loading
-
Ads with pictures

OUTSIDE IN: CHILDREN'S BOOKS IN TRANSLATION

Featuring some of the most groundbreaking and popular children's titles, this lively and comprehensive review examines children's books from around the world that have been translated into English.
12 Nov
Thane (Maharashtra)

THE TIGER'S CAVE AND TRANSLATIONS OF OTHER ZEN WRITINGS

Author: Trevor Leggett Publisher: Tuttle Publishing ISBN-13: 9780804820219 ISBN-10: 080482021X Publish Date: 1995-01-15 Edition: Binding Type: Paperback
05 Nov
Thane (Maharashtra)

ADAM'S DREAM: A PREFACE TO TRANSLATION (AN EVERGREEN

1978 FIRST EDITION/PRINT HARDCOVER w/DUST JACKET (Protected in Mylar) - GROVE PRESS PUBLISHER
25 Sep
Thane (Maharashtra)

THE ART OF STRATEGY: A NEW TRANSLATION OF SUN TZU'S

More than 2,500 years ago, Sun Tzu composed his masterpiece The Art of War which has been used by the world's greatest leaders including Napoleon. Here, Wing makes the influential philosophies of the Orient accessible to all seekers of professional achievement and personal excellence. 20 halftones, 35 illustrations.
25 Sep
Thane (Maharashtra)

BREAKTHROUGH, MEISTER ECKHART'S CREATION SPIRITUALITY, IN

A new translation of thirty-seven of the sermons of Meister Eckhart, the fourteenth-century priest and mystic.  Best-selling author Matthew Fox brilliantly interprets Eckhart's themes and creates a spiritual path for the nineties.
25 Sep
Thane (Maharashtra)

THE EMPEROR'S HANDBOOK: A NEW TRANSLATION OF THE

In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius’ Meditations —a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history—available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides. Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as “the most beautiful figure in history.” Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest. The historian Michael Grant praises Marcus’s book as “the best ever written by a major ruler,” and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it “the essential book on character, leadership, duty.” Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides. The Emperor’s Handbook offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcus’s words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day.
19 Sep
Thane (Maharashtra)

VERGIL'S AENEID AND FOURTH (MESSIANIC) ECLOGUE: IN THE

It seems to be a fact of literary history that Vergil's great Roman epic, the Aeneid (29-19 B.C.), is the most popular work of the imagination in the history of Western civilization, in the sense that it has probably been read by more people than have read any other literary work in the past two thousand years. Naturally, it has often been translated, but the most prestigious translation remains that by John Dryden (1697), which itself ranks as the third most popular translation in English literature, behind only the King James Bible and Pope's Iliad. Dryden's work is also the only long poem of merit in English literature between Milton and Pope. Yet it is almost impossible to find an annotated translation of the Aeneid, that is, a translation with the kind of introductory and explanatory material that would enable readers to understand and appreciate Vergil's achievement. Similarly, Dryden's translation has not been as available as it deserves. To meet these needs, Howard Clarke offers Vergil's story in Dryden's version, with the kind of information that would make the experience of reading these two classics both convenient and informative. A small bonus has been the addition of Vergil's "Fourth (or 'Messianic') Eclogue," the brief poem that predicted the birth of a wonderful child and thereby made Vergil seem something more than just a pagan poet.Since Dryden's translation was a product of its time, the late seventeenth century, when the conventions of translation were much looser than they are now, his work has sometimes been criticized for its liberties and inaccuracies. Both the Introduction and the Notes to this edition take account of these complaints and single those passages where Dryden has significantly deviated from Vergil's original. Also, Dryden's spelling and punctuation have been modernized to facilitate reading.
19 Sep
Thane (Maharashtra)

THE THIRD BOOK OF HORACE'S ODES (INCLUDES TRANSLATION)

Edited with translation and running commentary by: Williams, Gordon;
19 Sep
Thane (Maharashtra)

THE TRANSLATOR'S ART: ESSAYS IN HONOUR OF BETTY RADICE

The Translator's Art: Essays in Honour of Betty Radice (Penguin Classics)
19 Sep
Thane (Maharashtra)

THE NABOKOV RUSSIAN TRANSLATION OF LEWIS CARROLL'S ALICE

One of the best versions of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland in any language, this translation by the world-renowned author Vladimir Nabokov is beyond doubt the finest Russian translation. It is clear, witty, and wonderfully readable — a perfect book for students learning Russian and for anyone who wants to refresh his knowledge of the language. The translation of Alice has always presented a special problem. The narrative excitement of the child's book and the logical sense and nonsense of the adult's plus the flavor of the English puns and parodies must all be preserved. Famous for his own lucid prose style and his exceptionally clever use of puns, Nabokov handles all aspects of this translation with great skill. His version is not only accurate and faithful in the passages that are susceptible of straight translation, but also delightfully imaginative wherever the English text features a pun, parody, or other linguistic tour de force. First published in Berlin in 1923, this translation was Nabokov's first full-length translation and his first substantial publication of any kind. Since then he has earned an international reputation as a master novelist for his works in Russian and in English.
19 Sep
Thane (Maharashtra)

TRANSLATE POLISH TO ENGLISH. EASY SPEAKER'S TRANSLATION

  An Excellent book - old but hardly used, so few pages are yellowing a little, otherwise, ALMOST NEW condition! DISCOUNT SALE   -   LOWEST PRICE EVER   -   HURRY!!! In case of any query, please contact us BEFORE making the payment, by clicking on 'ask a question' on the top right side. Friends, leaving neutral or negative feedback won't solve your problem. Therefore, we humbly urge you to let us know about your problems before leaving such feedback and we guarantee that your request will be attended to in no time. Check out my other items ! Be sure to add me to your  favourites list ! Thanks  
01 Aug
Kolkata (West Bengal)

₹ 139

SAYINGS OF THE BUDDHA: NEW TRANSLATIONS FROM THE PALI

About Us | Shipping Policy | Restocking fees | Return Policy Author: Publisher: Oxford University Press Release Date: 01-12-2008 Seller Category: -- Qty Available: 1 Condition: Brand New ISBN: 9780192839251 Title: Sayings of the Buddha: New Translations from the Pali Nikayas (Oxford World's C Notes: Ships Today. Free Shipping. Please note: You will have only one chance to make me an offer so please be reasonable while making offer. Checkout the lowest price available on internet and I might be able to match it. I will not give away book for almost free. Item is non-refundable if item is sold through best offer. If you use buy it now, item is refundable within 30 days. 24*7 Customer Service.
26 Jul
Thane (Maharashtra)

₹ 1.662

NEW BELIEVER'S BIBLE: FIRST STEPS FOR NEW CHRISTIANS (NEW

About Us | Shipping Policy | Restocking fees | Return Policy Author: Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Release Date: 20/09/1996 Seller Category: -- Qty Available: 1 Condition: Brand New ISBN: 9780842345712 Title: New Believer's Bible: First Steps for New Christians (New Living Translation) Notes: Ships Today. Free Shipping. Please note: You will have only one chance to make me an offer so please be reasonable while making offer. Checkout the lowest price available on internet and I might be able to match it. I will not give away book for almost free. Item is non-refundable if item is sold through best offer. If you use buy it now, item is refundable within 30 days. 24*7 Customer Service.
26 Jul
Thane (Maharashtra)

₹ 2.388

LATIN UNSEEN TRANSLATION (BCP LATIN LANGUAGE S)

About Us | Shipping Policy | Restocking fees | Return Policy Author: R. Hyde Publisher: Bristol Classical Press Release Date: 27/08/1998 Seller Category: -- Qty Available: 1 Condition: Brand New ISBN: 9781853995606 Title: Latin Unseen Translation (Bcp Latin Language S) Notes: Ships Today. Free Shipping. Please note: You will have only one chance to make me an offer so please be reasonable while making offer. Checkout the lowest price available on internet and I might be able to match it. I will not give away book for almost free. Item is non-refundable if item is sold through best offer. If you use buy it now, item is refundable within 30 days. 24*7 Customer Service.
26 Jul
Thane (Maharashtra)

₹ 1.733


Free Classified ads - buy and sell cheap items in India | CLASF - copyright ©2017 www.clasf.in.